How To Buy a Used Car In Alabama

How To Buy a Used Car In Alabama

Here are some useful tips for buying a car in Alabama.

Gathering the Documents

Certificate of Title

Complete the following on the reverse side of the title:

  • Your name and address.
  • Your signature.
  • Signature of all sellers. If there’s more than one owner, all must sign.
  • Odometer disclosure if the car is less than 10 years old.

Odometer Statement

If the car is less than 10 years old, Federal law requires both you and the seller to complete the Conforming Odometer Statement on the back of the title.

If there’s no room on the title, complete the Federal Odometer Disclosure Statement.

Bill of Sale

Alabama counties have different rules regarding the bill of sale. Check with your county’s title and registration office.

When you buy a car through PrivateAuto, the seller will have a bill of sale you can sign right from the app.

Research the Title

Search the National Insurance Crimes Bureau website to verify the car:

  • Isn’t reported stolen.
  • Isn't declared a total loss in an insurance claim.

Mechanical Inspection

You’re buying the car “as-is.” In other words, you are responsible for any repairs. An inspection can tell you if there may be major repairs in the near future.

Find a mechanic with the Master Automotive Technician ASE Certification. This means the mechanic is skilled with most cars and light trucks.

Vehicle History Report

PrivateAuto now partners with AutoCheck to provide you with a vehicle history report.

When you buy through PrivateAuto, some sellers may provide the AutoCheck report.

Registering the Car In Your Name

Alabama requires the seller to remove the license plates before finalizing the sale.

You will need to register the car with the Alabama Department of Revenue. You can order new plates from your county’s licensing office.


When you buy a car in Alabama, PrivateAuto gives you everything you need to close the sale on your own.

Search Listings