How Much Are Alabama License Plates?

In Alabama, license plate fees depend on the type of plate you choose. The standard Alabama passenger vehicle plate costs $23 on top of registration fees. But drivers have over 100 specialty and personalized plates to choose from, which cost more.
Additional taxes and fees apply to both new and renewal registrations. Let’s get into the details of Alabama license plates.

Steps for Getting Alabama License Plates

Here are the steps for getting a new license plate from the Alabama county treasurer's office.

1. Gather required documents like proof of ownership, insurance, and valid Alabama driver's license.
2. Fill out and submit vehicle registration and license plate forms at the county treasurer's office.
3. Pay the $23 standard plate fee plus any vehicle registration fees to the county treasurer's office.
4. You will receive your new license plate and registration from your local license plate issuing office upon approval.
5. Attach the new plate to the rear of your vehicle.
Image highlighting DealNow by PrivateAuto

The Cost of License Plates in Alabama

There are different types of license plates: passenger license plates, commercial vehicle plates, special license plates, trailer plates, and motorcycle plates.
License plates measure 6 by 12 inches and are rectangular (motorcycle license plates are smaller, measuring 4 by 7 inches).

The Alabama license plate has seven characters (across the 50 states, license plates have anywhere from six to eight characters).

Let’s look at the different Alabama license plate offerings and their costs.

How Much is a Standard License Plate in Alabama?

Alabama keeps it simple when it comes to regular passenger vehicle license plates. The cost is only $23. This covers your standard plate with basic numbering when registering a new or used car, truck, RV, or motorcycle.

A standard license plate is issued in any of the following scenarios:

The replacement of special interest license plates with standard plates
Purchase of a new vehicle
Replacing lost, damaged, or stolen license plates.

Alabama Personalized Plate

Want to make a statement? Personalized plates, sometimes known as vanity plates, let you customize your ride with a unique letter and number combo. There's a $50 production fee plus the $23 standard plate cost. The county treasurer's office can walk you through getting a customized 7-character Alabama plate.

When selecting the lettering for your custom Alabama plate, there are some restrictions:

You are limited to no more than 7 total characters and spaces
No special characters or punctuation can be used
Offensive or inappropriate words/phrases are prohibited

Alabama Specialty License Plate

Show some team spirit or support a cause with specialty plates available in Alabama. Choices include college mascots, military service plates, and conservation themes. An Alabama specialty plate costs $55.

Here are the available designs.

Colleges and Universities

Alpha Kappa Alpha
Barber Vintage Motorsports Museum

Causes/Health Awareness

Autism Acceptance
Breast Cancer Research
Curing Childhood Cancer
Fighting Cystic Fibrosis
A Pink Breast Cancer Tag (Fight Breast Cancer-Joy to Life)
Hope for Kids With Diabetes
Law Enforcement Memorial
Mending Kids’ Hearts
Ovarian Cancer Research
Ronald McDonald House Charities of Alabama
Save the Saturn V
Sickle Cell Awareness
Stop Domestic Violence


Alabama Forests
Alabama Treasure Forest Association
Cahaba River
Forever Wild
Freshwater Fishing
Habitat for Humanity
Saltwater Fishing
State Parks
Wildlife Federation
National Wild Turkey Federation

Professional Associations

Alabama Cattlemen
Alabama Nurses Foundation

Public Service

Educator/Retired Educator
Fraternal Order of Police
Professional Firefighter
Rescue Squad
Retired Firefighter

General Interest

Alabama Bicentennial
Alabama Gold Star Family
Amateur Radio
Choose Life/Support Adoption
Ducks Unlimited
Farming Feeds
God Bless America
Helping Schools
In Memory Of Shriners
Sons of Confederate Veterans

For more info about specialty license plates, visit Alabama's official website.

Alabama Military License Plate

Alabama offers over 40 different military license plate designs, most of which cost the standard $23 plate fee with no additional fees. By displaying a military plate, drivers can showcase their service and support veterans programs through their purchase.
A few key options include:

Air Force, Army, Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard: Standard plates representing each military branch cost the regular $23 fee.
Prisoner of War is available at no cost to verified POWs.
Purple Heart is Issued free of charge to verified Purple Heart recipients.
A disabled veteran license plate is a free disability plate offered to veterans meeting eligibility criteria based on service-connected disability rating.
National guard and retired national guard cost $23 for active members. Retired National Guard members can also obtain a plate at the regular $23 cost.
Special Campaigns plates that represent WWII, Korea, Vietnam, Desert Storm, and Enduring Freedom are available for $23 each.

Disability License Plate and Placard

Alabama offers several types of disability license plates and placards to accommodate individuals with disabilities. These plates and placards provide designated parking access and other privileges to better serve disabled residents.

The main difference between a plate and a placard is that a disability license plate must be permanently attached to the vehicle, whereas a placard can be moved from one vehicle to another.

All disability license plates and placards issued to individuals in Alabama are free of charge, while organizational decals carry a small $2 fee.

Does Alabama Require a Front License Plate?

Alabama does not require a front license plate. You only need one license plate, in the back of your car.

All 50 states in the US require at least a rear license plate on vehicles. Some states require an additional front plate.

What do I do With Old License Plates in Alabama?

When you receive new Alabama license plates, either during renewal or for a new vehicle registration, you will need to properly dispose of your old plates.

Here are your main options:

Return: most county license offices in Alabama will take back your old plates when issuing new ones and properly dispose of them. This is the recommended option.
Recycle: you can remove any registration stickers and recycle the aluminum plates through your local recycling program, if available in your area.
Keep: some people opt to keep old license plates as souvenirs or decorations. Just be sure to invalidate any active registration stickers.
Transfer: in Alabama, you can legally transfer license plates from one vehicle to another with proper paperwork.

How To Transfer an Alabama Title in Alabama?

Transferring a title is the legal process of changing ownership of the vehicle. If you sell a car without transferring the title, then you may be liable for any accidents caused by the vehicle and its driver. Alabama vehicle title transfers cost $15.

The Alabama Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division, oversees this process. If you’re selling your vehicle in Alabama, here are the documents you’ll need for the transfer process:

Signed original car title or official duplicate title
Driver’s license or other valid identification
Signed odometer disclosure statement

See our guide to transferring an Alabama vehicle title for more information on the process.

How Much Does it Cost to Register a Vehicle in Alabama?

Registration in Alabama costs $23 to $105. To apply for an Alabama license plate, you must have a valid Alabama car registration card. Each county has an office that handles vehicle registrations and license plates. This may be called the county tax assessor, commissioner of licenses, probate judge, or license commissioner.
To register your vehicle, you will need to provide the following:

1. Proof of ownership
2. Proof of insurance
3. Proof of identity (driver's license or passport)
4. Vehicle's vehicle identification number (VIN).
5. Payment for the registration fee: $23 to $105
6. Payment for Alabama vehicle tax: 2%

How to Register an Out-of-State Vehicle in Alabama?

Moving to Alabama? To register an out-of-state vehicle in Alabama, you'll need to submit the following to licensing officials within 30 days of moving:

1. Original title
2. Proof of Alabama insurance
3. Last registration from the previous state (if applicable)
4. Payment for all applicable fees

Alabama License Plate Replacement Fees

If your license plate is lost, damaged, or stolen, you will need to replace it through your county license plate issuing office.

Here are the typical replacement fees:

Standard plate replacement: $23
Covers getting a new standard plate with the same plate number
Required if your current standard plates are damaged, lost, etc.
Personalized plate replacement: $50
Fee for replacing lost or damaged personalized vanity plates
Specialty plate replacement: up to $55
Varies depending on the type of specialty plate
Approximate fee for replacing any collegiate/military/cause plate
Transfer a plate: $2
Fee to transfer your existing plate to a new vehicle
Cheaper option than replacing the plate
Change plate records: $15
Changing the registered owner or other plate records
Updating any info associated with the plate
Image highlighting DealNow by PrivateAuto

Sell or Buy a Vehicle Online With PrivateAuto

We are the only transactional marketplace where you can sell or buy a car easily and conveniently.

Browse our selection of used vehicles, and get your dream car today!

Our innovative platform connects buyers and sellers and gives them all the tools to complete the deal, from in-app car financing to secure messaging to integrated payments via our banking gateway, PrivateAuto Pay. You can also schedule a test drive and negotiate the price without ever disclosing your personal information.

Here are the steps to selling your used vehicle.

1. Gather the required paperwork for selling a vehicle
2. Register on PrivateAuto and get verified
3. List your car
4. Set your terms
5. Vet incoming offers
6. Choose a buyer
7. Schedule a meeting
8. E-sign documents
9. Get paid, instantly
10. Transfer vehicle title

Alabama License Plate FAQ

How to renew vehicle tags in Alabama?

You will need to do the following when renewing vehicle tags at your local county license office:

- Pay the registration renewal fee
- Pay the license plate/tag renewal fee ($23 for a standard plate)
- Provide updated proof of car insurance
- Submit payment to the county office

How much does registration renewal cost in Alabama?

What are Alabama's ad valorem taxes?

Do you pay taxes when you buy a car from a private seller in Alabama?

Why does each Alabama county have its own vehicle registration office?

How do you protect yourself when buying a car privately?

What paperwork do I need to sell my car privately in Alabama?