North Dakota has its own laws for buying and selling used cars. This guide will make shopping for a used car simple.
Step 1 - Research the Car’s History
A vehicle history report from AutoCheck delivers the best value for the price. It can show you a lot about the car’s history.
- Accidents reported.
- Reported stolen.
- Liens on the title.
- Branded title (total loss, fire/flood damage, rebuilt from salvage).
- Maintenance records.
Step 2 - Test Drive the Car
When you shop with PrivateAuto, you can schedule a test drive right on the platform. Skip the endless back-and-forth texts and phone calls.
Choose from the available times and meet the seller at the locale shown.
Step 3 - Get an Inspection
Once you buy the car, you pay for any repairs it needs. An inspection can reveal hidden mechanical problems.
With the PrivateAuto inspection scheduling tool, you can book an inspection with a local ASE certified mechanic.
Step 4 - Complete the Paperwork
Certificate of Title
Complete the Seller’s Assignment and Warranty of Title section of the certificate.
- Buyer name and address.
- Selling price.
- Date of sale.
- Odometer reading (cars less than 10 years old).
- Signatures of you and the buyer.
If the car is less than 9 years old, complete the SFN 18609 Damage Disclosure Statement.
Bill of Sale
A bill of sale is optional in North Dakota. Still, it’s a good idea to have it for proof of purchase.
Step 5 - Complete the Deal
You still have a couple of items of business:
- Register the car and apply for a new title.
- Pay taxes and fees.
PrivateAuto makes it easy to shop for a used car from a private party.
- Communicate with sellers without sharing your private info.
- State-specific electronic documents.
- Test drive and inspection scheduling tools.
Plus, you get free tips for buying a car in North Dakota.