Follow these guidelines for buying a car in Connecticut
Get Seller Documents
Certificate of Title
Complete the following on the reverse side of the title:
- Your name and address.
- Your signature.
- Seller’s signature.
- Odometer disclosure if the car is less than 10 years old.
Federal law requires both you and the seller to complete the odometer disclosure on the back of the title. Cars 10 years old or more are exempt.
If there’s no room on the title, complete the Federal Odometer Disclosure Statement.
Bill of Sale
Connecticut requires a Bill of Sale. The seller can use the CT Form H-31 or a bill he or she drafted that includes the same info.
Sellers on PrivateAuto will have a bill of sale you can sign right from the app.
Research the Title
Search the National Insurance Crimes Bureau website to verify:
- The car wasn’t reported stolen or
- Declared a total loss in an insurance claim.
After the purchase, you are responsible for the cost of repairs. An inspection can reveal hidden mechanical problems.
A mechanic with the Master Automotive Technician ASE Certification is skilled at inspecting and repairing most cars and light trucks.
Vehicle History Report
PrivateAuto now partners with AutoCheck to provide you with a vehicle history report.
When you buy through PrivateAuto, some sellers may provide the AutoCheck report.
Registering the Car In Your Name
Connecticut requires the seller to remove the license plate after the sale.
You’ll need to register with the Connecticut DMV for new plates and a new title.
When you buy a car in Connecticut, PrivateAuto gives you dealer-quality services from a private seller.