Here is a helpful guide from the PrivateAuto staff for buying a used car in Maine.
Certificate of Title
Complete the following on the back of the title:
- Your name and address.
- Your signature.
- Signature of all sellers. If there’s more than one owner, all must sign.
- Odometer disclosure if the car is less than 10 years old.
Maine laws require you to complete the odometer disclosure on the back of the title. The bill of sale must also include the car’s mileage.
If there’s no room on the title, complete the Federal Odometer Disclosure Statement.
Bill of Sale
Maine requires the seller to provide a bill of sale.
When you buy a car through PrivateAuto, the seller will have a bill of sale you can sign directly from the app.
Research the Title
Search the National Insurance Crimes Bureau website to verify the car hasn’t been reported stolen or declared a total loss in an insurance claim.
Vehicle History Report
PrivateAuto now partners with AutoCheck to provide you with a vehicle history report.
When you buy through PrivateAuto, some sellers may provide the AutoCheck report.
Maine laws require dealers to provide a warranty of inspectability. It’s documentation that the car passed inspection within the last 60 days.
But private sellers aren’t required to provide inspection documents.
An inspection can reveal hidden mechanical problems.
Work with an ASE Certified mechanic. It means the mechanic is skilled with most cars and light trucks.
Registering the Car In Your Name
Maine requires the seller to remove the license plates before finalizing the sale.
You will need to request a new title and register the car with the Maine BMV.
When you buy a car in Maine, PrivateAuto makes the process easy and provides all the tools to close the sale on your own.