Here are some helpful pointers for buying a car in Florida
Gathering the Documents
Certificate of Title
You and the seller complete the following on the reverse side of the title:
- Your name and address.
- Your signature.
- Signature of all sellers. If there’s more than one owner, all must sign.
- Odometer disclosure if the car is less than 10 years old.
When you buy a car that’s less than 10 years old, Federal law requires both you and the seller to complete the odometer statement on the back of the title.
Complete the Federal Odometer Disclosure Statement if there’s no room on the title.
Bill of Sale
Florida doesn’t require a bill of sale. It’s still a good idea to have one so that you and the buyer have a legal record.
Sellers on PrivateAuto will have a bill of sale you can sign right from the app.
Research the Title
Search the National Insurance Crimes Bureau website to verify the car hasn’t been:
- Reported stolen.
- Declared a total loss in an insurance claim.
You’re buying the car “as-is.” In other words, you are responsible for any repairs. An inspection can find hidden mechanical problems.
Work with an ASE Certified mechanic. It means the mechanic is skilled with most cars and light trucks.
Vehicle History Report
AutoCheck now partners with PrivateAuto to provide you with an accurate vehicle history report.
When you buy through PrivateAuto, some sellers may provide the AutoCheck report.
Registering the Car In Your Name
Florida requires the seller to remove the license plates before finalizing the sale.
Order your plates from a motor vehicle service center.
When you buy a car in Florida, PrivateAuto matches you with private sellers who can provide dealer-quality services.