How Much are Used Car Sales Taxes in Wyoming?

Buying a used car can save you some cash, but don’t forget about sales tax. Wyoming charges a 4% sales tax on vehicle purchases.
Wyoming charges 4% of your vehicle's purchase price. On top of that, you may owe county tax as well. And then there are the fees.

Keep reading to get the scoop on Wyoming car sales taxes and fees.

Do you Pay Taxes When you Purchase a Car From a Private Party in Wyoming?

When making a car purchase in Wyoming, you’ll pay 4% of the vehicle’s purchase price, whether you buy from a private seller or a car dealer. Wyoming tax law does not discriminate between the two. Unless you qualify for a tax exemption (discussed below), you have to pay tax on your vehicle purchase.

In addition to the 4% state tax, you may owe local sales taxes on your vehicle purchase.

How Local Vehicle Sales Tax Works In Wyoming

Some Wyoming counties have local taxes. Depending on where you live in Wyoming, you could end up paying from 1% to 2% local sales tax on top of the state’s 4%.

See a complete list of all Wyoming county sales tax rates on this official resource.
Image highlighting DealNow by PrivateAuto

Wyoming Local Sales Tax Examples

You're in Laramie County, and you find a stunning Nissan GTR for $30,000. Laramie County’s sales tax is 2%. This means you'll owe a total sales tax of 6%—$600 in county tax ($30,000 multiplied by .02) and $1,200 ($30,000 multiplied by .04) in state tax. You owe a total tax bill of $1,800 on that GTR.
You're in Converse County, and you buy a Ford Bronco for $40,000; you will pay a total of $2000—1% in county sales tax and 4% in state tax.
You're in Natrona County and you get a used Silverado for $70,000. Natrona County's tax rate is 1%. That means that you’ll owe a total sales tax of 5% on your vehicle purchase—1% in county sales tax and 4% in state tax.

Understanding the Tax Basis for Vehicle Sales

Car sales tax is owed on the value of the car you purchased. The value is assumed to be the car’s purchase price, unless the purchase price is suspiciously low.

Some individuals have the brilliant idea of negotiating an artificially low sales price and then paying the difference in a side transaction. Do not do it; Wyoming's Department of Revenue is far ahead of you.
If the Wyoming Department of Revenue determines that the car's fair market value is significantly greater than the purchase price, they have the option of basing your sales tax on the Kelley Blue Book or NADA assessed value.

Also, underreporting a vehicle's purchase price in order to avoid paying sales tax is illegal.

What is the Difference Between Sales and Use Tax?

Sales tax is a percentage of a car's purchase price owed to the state of Wyoming when you buy a car and register it in Wyoming. Use tax is the same thing, but for cars purchased outside of Wyoming and brought into the state for registration.

When purchasing a vehicle out-of-state you will have to pay a 4% use tax (the same rate as the sales tax) when you register the car in Wyoming.

If you paid sales tax on the purchase of a vehicle in another state, Wyoming deducts that tax so that you are not taxed twice. There are four potential scenarios (leaving out local sales taxes for simplicity).

1. You paid less than 4%, in which case you will have to pay the difference.
2. You paid exactly 4% sales tax in South Dakota or one of the other states with the same 4% sales tax rate as Wyoming, in which case Wyoming will give you a pass.
3. You paid no sales tax in another state. Let's say you bought a used car in Montana and didn’t pay sales tax, given Montana’s 0% tax rate. You’ll pay Wyoming’s full 4% use tax.
4. You paid more than 4% in the other state (for example, Idaho levies a 6% tax on every used vehicle purchase). We wish we could tell you that Wyoming will give you a refund, but no. At least they won’t charge you any more tax.

How to Pay Wyoming Car Sales Tax

Here's how to pay the Wyoming sales tax:

1. To transfer ownership of the vehicle, you and the seller must complete the necessary paperwork, including the bill of sale (when you buy a used car on PrivateAuto, we provide an official Wyoming bill of sale and prompt both of you to sign it in our app at the appropriate stage of the transaction process). You'll need the following documents to transfer car ownership in a private transaction:
a. The original vehicle title.
b. Proof of Wyoming insurance.
c. Valid driver’s licenses or IDs
2. Calculate the amount of sales tax due.
3. Fill out the form.
4. Submit payment for all taxes and fees along with the form.
5. Get your motor vehicle registration, title, and new license plates. Once you've paid Wyoming’s sales tax and turned in the necessary documentation, you'll get your new registration and title for the car. The title and registration will show that you bought the car and that the sales tax has been paid. You will get your new plates by mail.

How to Avoid Paying Sales Tax on Vehicles in Wyoming?

Motor vehicle taxes are unavoidable—they are a part of our lives. Unless you qualify for an exemption in Wyoming, you’ll pay sales tax on private used vehicle purchases.

To learn more about Wyoming motor vehicle sales tax exemptions, check with your local DOR.

License Plates, Title, And Registration Fees in Wyoming

In addition to the state vehicle sales taxes, you owe other fees when buying a car and registering it in Wyoming, such as vehicle registration fees and car title transfer fees.

To register your vehicle at the Wyoming county treasurer's office, you must show proof of valid vehicle insurance. First-time passenger vehicle registration ranges from $30 to $125, plus the $15 title fee and $10 vehicle identification number inspection fee.

Wyoming's standard license plate cost is included in the registration fee. A prestige plate can cost you anywhere from $50 to $130 additional.

Is Purchasing a Car from a Dealer Better?

A lot of people mistakenly believe that buying a car from a Wyoming dealer saves money. The opposite is true: going to a Wyoming dealer costs you more money.
Dealerships charge documentation fees above and beyond all the other Wyoming taxes and fees you have to pay (the other taxes and fees are exactly the same whether you buy from a dealer or a private seller, by the way). An average documentation fee in Wyoming is $495.
Used car dealerships typically charge higher prices. Their business model is based on buying low and selling high to generate the spread that keeps them in business. To get the best deals, skip the middleman and go directly to private sellers.

We do admit that dealers bring a certain amount of convenience that you don’t traditionally get when you buy from a private seller. In fact, that’s why we exist. PrivateAuto gives you dealer-like convenience in the palm of your hand while allowing you to transact peer-to-peer with regular folks like yourself.

By shopping for used vehicles from private sellers on PrivateAuto, you avoid doc fees and get lower prices.

Wyoming Car Sales Tax Calculator

If you're in the market for a used vehicle, you'll want to calculate the applicable sales tax. With PrivateAuto's used car sales tax calculator, calculating sales tax has never been easier. This free online vehicle sales tax calculator calculates the amount of tax you must pay on a used car purchase based on the sales tax rate in Wyoming (4%) and the vehicle's price.

Sell or Buy a Vehicle Online With PrivateAuto

We are the only transactional marketplace where you can buy and sell used vehicles safely and conveniently.
Untitled design - 2023-10-31T060714.961.png
Our innovative platform connects buyers and sellers and gives them all the tools to complete the deal, from in-app financing to secure messaging to integrated payments via our banking gateway, PrivateAuto Pay. You can also schedule a test drive and negotiate the price without ever disclosing your personal information.

Here are the steps to sell your car in Wyoming.

1. Gather the required paperwork for selling a vehicle in Wyoming
2. Register on PrivateAuto and get verified
3. List your car
4. Set your terms
5. Vet incoming offers
6. Choose a buyer
7. Schedule a meeting
8. E-sign documents
9. Get paid instantly with PrivateAuto Pay
10. Transfer title

Wyoming Sales Tax FAQ

Do I need a bill of sale in Wyoming?

Seller's info:
- Full name
- Address
- Contact information (phone number and/or email address)
Buyer's info:
- Full name
- Address
- Contact information (phone number and/or email address)
Vehicle info:
- Make (manufacturer)
- Model
- Year
- Body type
- Vehicle Identification Number
- Odometer reading (mileage)
- Color
- Vehicle description, including condition
Transaction details:
- Purchase price (in words and numbers)
- Date of purchase (month, day, and year)
- Payment method (cash, check, money order, or electronic transfer)
- Additional terms and conditions (if any):
An acknowledgment that the new owner purchases the vehicle with or without a warranty, as the case may be
Disclosure of known defects or issues with the vehicle
Any agreed-upon repairs or maintenance to be performed before or after the sale
Terms of a return policy, if any
Any other specific terms agreed upon by both parties
- Both the buyer and the seller should sign and print their names
- The date of signing
- Witness signatures, if required by your state, or if desired for extra validation
Wyoming requires private party vehicle sales have a bill of sale that is notarized by a notary public to be valid for registration.

Which state has the lowest tax rate?

Are there any Wyoming online vehicle registration fee calculators?

Can vehicle sales tax payments be made online in Wyoming?

Can I pay vehicle taxes without registering a vehicle?