Here are some useful tips for buying a car in Arkansas.
Certificate of Title
Complete the following on the reverse side of the title:
- Your name and address.
- Your signature.
- Seller’s signature.
- Odometer disclosure if the car is less than 10 years old.
Federal law requires both you and the seller to complete the odometer disclosure on the back of the title. Cars 10 years old or more are exempt.
If there’s no room on the title, complete the Federal Odometer Disclosure Statement.
Bill of Sale
Arkansas requires a bill of sale if
- The title is from out of state.
- The control number is less than 3003001.
Sellers on PrivateAuto will have a bill of sale you can sign right from the app.
Research the Title
Search the National Insurance Crimes Bureau website to verify the car:
- Isn’t reported stolen.
- Isn’t declared a total loss in an insurance claim.
After the purchase, you are responsible for the cost of repairs. An inspection can reveal hidden mechanical problems.
A mechanic with the Master Automotive Technician ASE Certification is skilled at inspecting and repairing most cars and light trucks.
Vehicle History Report
PrivateAuto now partners with AutoCheck to provide you with a vehicle history report.
When you buy through PrivateAuto, some sellers may provide the AutoCheck report.
Registering the Car In Your Name
Arkansas requires the seller to remove the license plate after the sale.
To get new plates, you will need to submit an Arkansas Vehicle Registration Application. You’ll get temporary plates good for 30 days while waiting for permanent plates.
PrivateAuto gives you a unique car buying experience in Arkansas. You get dealer-like services from a private seller.