You need to know how to transfer a car title in Georgia if you…
- Are buying or selling a car
- Need to add or remove an owner
- Donate or give a vehicle as a gift
- Receive a car as an inheritance from a family member
- Transfer ownership in a divorce settlement
You need the certificate of title. If the original title is lost or damaged, complete and apply for a duplicate title.
Step 1. Check for a Clear Title
If the owner has a car loan, the title will have a lien. The owner needs to pay it off and get a lien release.
Step 2. Complete the Application forAssignment and Warranty of Title by Owner Section on the Title
The new owner needs to complete the transfer section on the back.
- Full legal name
- Date of transfer
- Street address or RFD number
- County of residence
- Odometer reading
- Printed name and signature
The previous owner also needs to sign the title.
Step3. Complete and Submit Additional Documents
Other paperwork you need includes:
- Bill of Sale
- Emissions Inspection Certificate
- Proof of Georgia liability insurance
Step 4. Apply for a New Certificate of Title
Step 5. Pay Taxes and Fees
You will need to pay…
- $20 license plate fee
- $18 title fee
- Title Ad Valorem Tax
By Georgia law, you have 30 days from the transfer date to register. You can order a new license plate or transfer one from a vehicle you no longer own.
To transfer a certificate of title in Georgia, you need to
- Complete the title transfer on the back of the certificate
- Apply for a new title
You may need other forms, depending on your circumstances.