The cost of license plates in the State of Florida can vary, depending on the type of plates you choose. Standard license plates cost $28. If you want to customize your plate with special characters or a slogan, then you'll pay an additional annual fee of $15.
Florida fees are lower for license plate renewals than for new plates. Additional taxes and fees apply to both new and renewal registrations.
What Is The Process For Getting License Plates In Florida?
In Florida, vehicles are only required to have a license plate on the rear of the vehicle.
(Every US state requires a rear license plate. Some states require an additional front plate, while other states don’t.)
Here’s how to get a new license plate from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV.)
Transfer of Title
If you’ve recently purchased a used car, you’ll need to apply to the FLHSMV for a transfer of title.
Your application for a motor vehicle title transfer must be processed before you may receive a license plate. For that, you'll need to submit a valid registration certificate, proof of valid liability insurance, an identity card, and any applicable sales taxes and fees (Florida car sales tax is 6% of the purchase price of the new or used vehicle).
See our guide to transferring a Florida car title for more detailed info on the title transfer process.
Register With FLHSMV
Before applying for a license plate, a vehicle owner will need a valid vehicle registration card from FLHSMV. In Florida, you must register your vehicle in person.
According to Chapter 230 of the 2022 Florida Statutes, “The $225 Initial Registration Fee must be paid when the owner does not have a license plate or record of a license plate registered in their name for a vehicle he or she previously owned (in Florida), to transfer to a newly acquired vehicle.”
In other words, if you have a license plate from a previous vehicle, you can transfer that license plate and its associated registration to your newly-purchased vehicle. If you don’t have a previous plate and registration to transfer, you’ll start from scratch and pay the $225 registration fee.
An initial registration must take place in person at a local FLHSMV service center at the time of titling by submitting the following:
- A completed Application for Certificate of Title With/Without Registration (HSMV form 82040)
- Your Florida drivers’ license (permit, or non-driver ID card )
- Florida vehicle insurance
- Information about your vehicle, such as the vehicle identification number, make, and model
After you submit the paperwork and pay the Florida license plate fee, you’ll need to pick up your license plate—or wait for it to come in the mail.
Along with a completed transfer of title and registration, to complete the registration process you’ll need to provide proof that you own the car, such as a bill of sale or Certificate of Title.
In Florida, as in other states, you won’t be able to register your car unless you have a valid insurance policy on it. Don’t have insurance? Get a fast, free quote!
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website provides useful information regarding licensing requirements, along with instructions for how to apply for a plate.
Florida Vehicle Registration Fee Calculator
Some Florida counties provide an online calculator on their DMV website so that you can easily estimate your vehicle registration fees. All you need to do is input the required information, including:
- The age make and model of your vehicle
- The name of your insurance company and agent
- Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
After plugging in your info, the calculator will give you a breakdown of all your registration fees with explanations of each.
How to Order a License Plate In Florida
There are three ways to order a license plate in Florida.
- In person at local FLHSMV offices (find locations here)
- Online via the FLHSMV website
- Through the mail
Whether you apply online, in person, or by mail, you need to fill out an application form that includes your personal information, address, and vehicle registration info.
Once you have submitted the form, you will be asked to pay the Florida license plate fee. The fee varies, depending on the type of license plate you choose, but for standard license plates is $28.
If you order online or in person, you can pay with a credit card, debit card, or electronic check. If you mail in your application, you must enclose a check or money order made out to your local county tax collectors office.
Florida Vehicle Registration Fees
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is responsible for vehicle registration and driver licensing in the state.
In Florida you can choose to register your vehicle for one or two years. FLHSMV will charge you a registration fee based on the weight of the vehicle, whether or not it is from out of state, and the length of time you register your vehicle for. The initial motor vehicle registration fee is $225, plus extra fees such as:
- A title transfer fee between $75.25 and 85.25 (if transferring a title from a previous owner to a new owner)
- A 6% (of the vehicle price) state vehicle sales tax
The annual tax and other fees are determined by your vehicle's weight class.
The following are the annual fees for private use vehicles:
- A $27.60 fee per year ($55.20 for two years) for vehicles weighing between 0-2499 pounds
- A $35.60 fee per year ($71.50 for two years) for vehicles weighing between 2500-3499 pounds
- A $45.60 fee per year ($91.20 for two years) for vehicles weighing 3500 pounds or more
How Much Does It Cost To Register a Car In Florida From Out-Of-State?
To register an out-of-state car in Florida and get a Florida license plate, you’ll need to pay:
- A license plate fee of $28 (for standard plates)
- A registration fee of $225 for Florida residents—or for anyone who moves to Florida and establishes residency
- A motor vehicle title fee of $75.75 if you are transferring the vehicle title from another owner
- Application fee of $88.25 for out of state title, or $80.25 for a Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin
- Sales taxes and county use taxes according to your jurisdiction if you have just purchased the car and are registering it for the first time.
For purposes of vehicle registration, Florida defines residence as any of the following developments:
- You start working in the state of Florida
- You enroll your children in Florida public schools
- You establish your Florida residence by purchasing a home or other residential real estate, or by entering into a rental arrangement or leasing agreement
To register an out-of-state vehicle in Florida, you need to fill out the Application for Florida Title, and provide the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles with documents such as:
- Proof of ownership (original Out of State Title or Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin)
- Proof of identity and a registration card
- Proof of insurance
- Odometer reading
- Lien or lease contract (if applicable)
When submitting the motor vehicle registration documentation, you need to pay the fees and taxes online, at FLHSMV or your local tax collector's office.
Types Of License Plates and Their Corresponding Fees
There are many different license plate types: passenger license plates, commercial vehicle plates, special license plates, trailer plates, and motorcycle plates.
License plates measure 6 by 12 inches and are rectangular (motorcycle license plates are smaller, measuring 4 by 7 inches). They are made of aluminum, which is durable and resistant to rust.
The Florida license plate has 6 characters (across the 50 states, license plates have anywhere from six to eight characters).
How Much Is a Standard License Plate In Florida?
A Florida standard license plate costs $28.
Florida state offers three standard license plate options to choose from:
- The "county name" plate (not available in all states)
- The "Sunshine State" plate
- The "In God We Trust" plate
Passenger vehicles, commercial motor vehicles, motorcycles, permanent trailers, trailer coaches, and park trailers all have a standard Florida license plate that confirms registration and helps identify them.
A standard license plate is issued in any of the following scenarios:
- Purchase of a new vehicle
- Replacing a plate that has been stolen, lost, or damaged
- Surrendering a special interest license plate and replacing it with standard license plate
How Much Are Personalized Plates In Florida?
Most Florida license plates may be customized, including specialty license plates, which are also available. The cost of a personalized plate is an additional $15 annual fee for any personalized plate.
To find out if your desired license plate personalization is permissible and available, you can use the Florida Personalized License Plate Inquiry service.
Florida Tag Transfer Fee
The fee for transferring a tag in Florida is $75.25
To transfer a tag in Florida in-person, you can go to your local Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) office or tax collector's bureau. Make sure you have all of the necessary papers, as well as your certificate of title application.
Florida Handicap License Plate Fees
There are several types of Florida handicapped license plates available:
- Disabled parking permit, temporary (valid for six months)
- Permanent placard or license plate for the disabled (valid for four years)
- Florida wheelchair license plate
- License plate for disabled veterans
- Organization permit (for organizations that transport disabled people)
A disabled veterans license plate is free of charge. A handicap license plate is also free of charge for people with permanent disabilities. A $28 fee is charged for wheelchair license plate.
A temporary disabled parking placard costs $15 and is valid for six months.
Florida DMV License Plate Renewal Fee
Florida charges $28.00 for license plate renewal.
In Florida, you can renew your registration and license plate:
- In person at the local DMV office
- Online through the MyDMV portal
- Via the FLHSMV mobile app
Each state has different requirements for how often license plates need to be renewed. Florida drivers are required to renew their registration every two years.
Being late on registration renewal can lead to late additional fees, fines, and other problems when pulled over for a traffic stop. To avoid this, it is important to pay careful attention to the registration expiration date.
License Plate Replacement Fees
In some cases, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles may require you to change your license plates. This is usually the case if the plate is lost, stolen, or damaged.
When you submit your application for license plate replacement, you must pay a $28 replacement fee. If your license plates are damaged, you must submit them to DMV officials.
Along with the new license plate, a new registration sticker will be mailed.
If your license plate was stolen, the first step is to report the theft of the license plate to your local police department. In many cases, you must verify your address with the vehicle licensing office before you can begin the process of replacing a plate that was lost or stolen.
Once the report has been filed, you will need to visit your local Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office to obtain a replacement plate.
If you need to replace your license plate, you need to submit an Application for Replacement Plates Form by mail or in person at a Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles location.
Florida Temporary License Plates
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles issues temporary plates for 10, 30, and 90 days.
A temporary license plate used by dealers is valid for 30 days.
A temporary license plate used for non-dealer purposes is valid for 10 days and is usually used when:
- A motor vehicle must be weighed in order to be registered
- A motor vehicle and motorcycle needs have its vehicle identification number validated or be examined in order to apply for a Florida Certificate of Title
To receive a temporary plate, you must fulfill all of the following criteria:
- Have a title that has been assigned to you
- Be in possession of a state identification card or a driver's license
- Have current insurance coverage
- Complete an Application for Temporary License Plate form and pay a $2 fee for the license plate and $2.50 service fee
How To Check If a Car Has Florida Back Fees?
Before purchasing a used car in Florida, identify whether it has back fees—or you could be liable for them.
The first step is to obtain the vehicle identification number from the seller. With the VIN, you can contact your local DMV and request a title search. The FLHSMV will be able to tell you if there are any unpaid fees associated with the car, such as registration fees or parking tickets.
Buying or Selling A Car with PrivateAuto
Conduct private car transactions easily and safely with PrivateAuto. Our innovative platform connects buyers and sellers and gives them all the tools to complete the deal, from in-app financing to secure messaging to integrated payments. Get started with PrivateAuto today.
10 Easy Steps for Selling A Used Car with PrivateAuto
PrivateAuto makes selling your used car safe and easy. The sales process consists of a few simple steps:
- Gather the required documentation
- Create your PrivateAuto profile and get verified
- List the car
- Set your own terms
- Vet incoming offers
- Choose the buyer you like
- Schedule the meetup
- E-sign paperwork
- Get paid instantaneously
- Transfer ownership
FAQ on Florida License Plates
How much is a car title in Florida?
If you’ve just purchased a car and want to register your vehicle in the state of Florida, you will be required to pay a $225 registration fee. The title transfer fee ranges between $75.25 and 85.25. A 6% (of the vehicle price) for Florida sales taxes also needs to be paid.
How much is a first-time license plate in Florida?
The state of Florida charges $28 for a standard license plate. Those looking to personalize their plates can add an additional annual fee of $15. The process can be done quickly and efficiently with just one stop at your nearest Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles office.
How much is a tag and title in Florida?
When buying a car in Florida an initial registration fee of $225 (including the tag)is applied. Florida title transfer fees range between $75.25 and 85.25. You’ll also need to pay 6% (of the vehicle price) for Florida sales taxes.
What is Florida DHSMV?
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) is Florida’s equivalent of the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), which most states have. FLHSMV is sometimes abbreviated as DHSMV, even though FLHSMV is the official abbreviation.
Additionally, people sometimes refer to FLHSMV as “the Florida DMV.”