Here is what you should know about selling your car in Alaska.
Documents You Need To Sell Your Car In Alaska
Certificate of Title
Complete the following on the reverse side of the title:
- Buyer name and address.
- Buyer signature.
- Signature of all sellers. If there’s more than one owner, all must sign.
- Odometer disclosure if the car is less than 10 years old.
- Rebuilt from salvage disclosure if needed.
If the car is less than 10 years old, Federal law requires both you and the buyer to complete the Conforming Odometer Statement on the back of the title.
If there’s no room on the title, you and the buyer must complete the Federal Odometer Disclosure Statement.
Bill of Sale
How To Replace a Lost Title in Alaska
You can get a duplicate title with a notarized form 809. The fee is $15.
Vehicle History Report
Although it’s up to the buyer to get the vehicle history report, you can present yourself as a trustworthy seller if you obtain the report.
When you sell your car with PrivateAuto Premium, you get a vehicle history report at no extra cost.
How To Register a Car To a New Owner in Alaska
Alaska requires that you keep personalized or custom plates. Remove them before you hand over the keys and the title.
You can report the sale and transfer of ownership online.
To transfer standard plates to the new owner, submit the Application for Title and Registration (Form 812) to the DMV.