You need to know how to transfer a car title in Michigan to…
- Buy or sell a used car
- Add or remove owners
- Give a car as a gift
- Donate an auto
- Transfer ownership in a divorce settlement
- Inherit an automobile
You’ll need the certificate of title. If it’s lost or damaged, request a duplicate title from the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) office.
Step 1. Check for a Clear Title
If there’s a lien on the title, you’ll need to get a lien release before the transfer.
Step 2. Complete the Title Assignment by SellerSection
Complete the section at the bottom of the front of the certificate.
- Buyer name and address
- Date of sale
- Sales price
- Odometer disclosure
- Seller name, address, and signature
Step 3. Complete Additional Documents
Other documents you may need include:
- Proof of insurance
- Proof of lien satisfaction, if applicable
- Driver’s license
Step 4. Apply for a New Certificate of Title
You need to have an appointment with a Michigan SOS branch office. To avoid paying penalties, apply for a Michigan title within 15 days of buying the car.
Step 5. Pay Fees and Taxes
Buyers pay a 6% use tax. County and local taxes may apply. Transfers to family members, including in-laws, may be exempt.
The title transfer fee is $15. For titles with a lien attached, it’s $16. You can get instant title service for $5. Other fees may apply.
To transfer a certificate of title in Michigan, you need to Complete both the title assignment on the back of the certificate and apply for a new title.
You may need other forms, depending on your circumstances.
When you buy or sell a used car with PrivateAuto, you get electronic state-specific documents you can sign straight from the platform.