Here are some helpful tips for buying a car in Colorado
Certificate of Title
Complete the following on the reverse side of the title:
- Your name and address.
- Your signature.
- Seller’s signature.
- Odometer disclosure if the car is less than 10 years old.
Federal law requires both you and the seller to complete the odometer disclosure on the back of the title. Cars 10 years old or more are exempt.
If there’s no room on the title, complete the Federal Odometer Disclosure Statement.
If you live in an area that requires emissions testing, The seller must provide an emissions report.
Automobiles are exempt from emissions testing for 7 years from the model year.
But if you are buying in the 7th year of the exemption, you’ll need emissions testing.
Bill of Sale
The bill of sale must include the following:
- Buyer Name.
- Purchase price.
- Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).
- Your name, signature, and date.
Sellers on PrivateAuto will have a bill of sale you can sign directly from the app.
Research the Title
Use the Motor Vehicle Verification System to make sure the car isn’t stolen.
The National Insurance Crimes Bureau website can tell you if the car was declared a total loss in an insurance claim.
Make sure the car is roadworthy. An inspection can reveal hidden mechanical problems.
Work with an ASE Certified mechanic. Certification shows that the mechanic is skilled in inspecting and servicing most cars and light trucks.
Vehicle History Report
When you buy through PrivateAuto, some sellers may provide an AutoCheck history report.
Colorado License Plates
Colorado requires the seller to remove the license plate after the sale.
Get new plates at a motor vehicle office in your home county. You’ll need:
- Seller Documents
- Secure and verifiable identification.
- Proof of insurance.
PrivateAuto makes it easy to sell or buy a car in Colorado.